Product Colors and Sizes

  • Sale product
  • Best Seller product
  • Eco-Friendly product
  • New product
  • Staff Pick product
  • In The News product
  • Innovation product
  • product

Simond Alpinism, 40 + 10 L Mountaineering Backpack

Regular price: $99.99 Regular price:

Large opening at the back for unrivaled comfort during use. The front pocket gives quick access to mountain safety items. This all-in-one bag is just what you need!

Color: Select a color
Size: Select a size
Sale price: $99.99 Regular price:

Free returns

Free shipping over $35

Free pickup

San Francisco, 735 Market St. Options

Select an available color and size to see options.

Model: 8558677

Product Features

Simond Alpinism, 40 + 10 L Mountaineering Backpack is designed for This versatile and modular 40 + 10 liter (2441 + 610 in³) bag is loaded with features. It is the perfect companion for multiday routes or ski touring.

Large opening at the back for unrivaled comfort during use. The front pocket gives quick access to mountain safety items. This all-in-one bag is just what you need!

A photo of the Simond Alpinism, 40 + 10 L Mountaineering Backpack in use


Multifunction: 2 ice-axe loops, helmet carrier, ski/snowboard carrying system

Carrying comfort

Thermoformed foam back, ergonomic straps, comfortable foam hip belt


2.2 lbs fully accessorized and only 2 lbs in its minimalist version.


Save weight: the hip belt's flap and pads are removable.


One-piece 420D Ripstop polyamide construction.

Easy to use

Easy access to bag contents through the zipper opening at the back.

Product Customer Reviews

Skip to reviews
41 Reviews
Write a Review 

Simond Alpinism, 40 + 10 L Mountaineering Backpack,black
Filtered by reviews Loading reviews…
Nice but some issues are killing it

I've just finished my 2 day walk with night in the tent in December Tatra mountains and here are my opinions: Pros - Very light and capacious, easy access to everything, versatile. Cons - Top flap is a DISASTER always ending at the back of rucksack if it's not completely full i was going to return it but I have managed to puncture the bottom and it is too late for that :( All is black, there is a problem to distinguish which plug should go where since there is so many of them, it is very problematic in frosty windy night. The plugs are very uncomfortable to plug and unplug in 90% cases i had to take of the gloves. The lowest eyelet where belt clipping two arms should go is to small so there is no way to thread the belt there. Socket to plug ice axe is very uncomfortably fixed to the body. Internal sling designed to keep rope at the top under top flap is super annoying since it always goes into zippier of the back access hatch, is is impossible to detach it, it is unnecessary since the rope can be keep by top flap. Hip-belt pads were fine for me, however the hooks could have some kind of protection against self unhooking as that happened to me twice. I don't believe that the bottom fabric will survive being frown on rocks several times even if it will survive the same with snow.

Brilliant! Simond should create larger version

Brilliant! Great value for money. Incredibly durable, versatile and lightweight. I believe Simond should also create larger versions of the "cliff" in 30 & 40 litre sizes. A back injury few years ago has made me extremely weight conscious and the lightness of this backpack combined with its great price was what made me purchase it in the first place. I'm in the look for a similar ultralight rucksack but they cost a fortune. If the " cliff" was also available in 30-40lt I would be over the moon! And would think of it as a great buy!

Functional design but can be improved

I like the zipper opening at the back. it works like a travel backpack. I also like the flexibility of add on and off some parts. However, I dont understand those cheaper version also used a more durable frabic at the bottom and back, why that does not appear in this more expensive backpack.

Very thin and fragile buckle

The plastic buckle on the waist belt is very thin and fragile. It broke into pieces on my first tour

Hi Bin,

Thank you for your feedback! We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience with your product. We highly appreciate your feedback and it helps us to improve the product!

Despite our high standards and our continuous testing in the development process, it can happen that one of our products does not fulfill our expectations.

The warranty for this item is 5 years. You can make a return online via your MyDECATHLON account. If you ordered as a guest, you should have received a link to the return label via email when your order was shipped.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you as a customer again soon!

mit sportlichen Grüßen



Lösung gegen das Aushängen der Hüftpolster

Ich bestätige, das das Aushängen der Hüftpolster sehr leicht geschiht. Das hätte man besser können. Etwas größere Polste wären auch nicht schlecht. Ich habe das Porblem gelöst, indem ich jeweils durch die Häkchenbefästigung eine 2mm Schnur geführt habe(mit doppelten Knoten gegen Verrutschen gesichert). Die zwei Enden weden dann zusätzlich zum Haken durch die Öse geführt und die beiden enden einmal uf jeder seite umgeschlagen und mit einer Schleife (Doppelknoten) gesichert. Bis jetzt funktioniert es.

Nur bedingt empfehlenswert

Ich habe den Rucksack bei einer alpinen 2-Tagestour getragen. Dabei war er suboptimal. Pro: - Die Möglichkeit, vom Rückenteil aus den direkten Zugriff auf alles zu bekommen, ist prima. Contra: - Die beiden seitlichen Polster der Hüftgurte haben sich regelmäßig ausgehängt, wenn ich den Rucksack abesetzt habe. Und im angezogenen Zustand brauchte ich Hilfe, um sie wieder eingehängt zu bekommen. - Und weil der Deckel voll abnehmbar ist, geht der Zug von den Brustgurten nicht auf die ganze Hülle, sondern nur auf das Rückenteil (mit dem Ergebnis, dass die Last nicht nahe am Rücken bleibt, sondern der Rucksack immer nach hinten wegkippt und sich der Rucksack innnen "aufzieht"). Mir (173 cm) ist es nicht gelungen, den Rucksack so einzustellen, dass er angenehm über die Hüfte zu tragen ist.

Super für Hike & Fly

...eine Susi3 mit 16 qm im 50/50 passt samt Hochtourenausrüstung perfekt rein. Dank der Rückenöffnung geht das komfortabel ohne Stopfen. Der Rucksack ist kompakt und einigermaßen leicht. Die Details sind durchdacht. Fairer Preis.

Super Rucksack für Hike & Fly

...eine 16er Susi samt Hochtourenausrüstung passt perfekt rein, dank Rückenöffnung auch ohne stopfen. Der Rucksack ist dabei schön kompakt und einigmaßen leicht. Die Details sind gut durchdacht und das alles zu einem fairen Preis. Die Haltbarkeit muss sich noch zeigen.

Lo mejor

Se puede utilizar para todo...genial!

icon-circle-checkmark verified purchase
Exelente mochila de alta montaña

Carga mas de lo que parece y es muy resistente.

icon-circle-checkmark verified purchase

No sirve para mujeres o personas de espalda estrecha, los tirantes se clavan en las axilas porque están muy separados. El otro fallo es la seta, si la mochila no esta llena del todo la seta se cae hacia adelante dejando ver el cierre de la mochila, si nieva o llueve (como fue mi caso) cae todo dentro. La solución es hacer dos mochilas (hombre y mujer) para el tema de los tirantes y en cuanto a la seta poner las correas en la parte trasera para que no se mueva y no en el lateral. Solo la he usado un fin de semana.

Hola Rafael,

Muchas gracias por el feedback sobre esta mochila de alpinismo.

Agradecemos toda la información para seguir mejorando nuestros productos día a día.

Al ser un producto de marca Decathlon dispones de 60 días de prueba del producto y en caso de que no satisfaga tus necesidades podrás cambiarla por otra que se adapte mas a tus necesidades.

En cualquier tienda Decathlon podrás encontrar un compañero de la sección de verticalidad que te pueda ayudar con tus exigencias.

Un saludo.

Marcos, experto en deportes de verticalidad.

La tapa no se ajusta a la mochila.

Las correas de tensión de los hombros quedan por debajo de la tapa y al ponerte la mochila ya sea llena o semi-llena la tapa nunca queda ajustada y por la parte de la nuca se quedara la mochila descubierta. Fallo en el diseño del producto.

Hola Mario,

sentimos tu experiencia con el producto. La seta lleva dos correas para ajustarla según la carga. Es importante que la mochila lleve la carga aproximada a su litraje, para que no ocurra lo que te ha pasado a tí, ya que la seta, si no lleva carga, queda en una posición demasiado baja, lo que puede ocasionar un ajuste inadecuado.

De cualquier manera, tenemos en cuenta tu opinión para futuros desarrollos del producto.

Muchas gracias.

Juanjo. Experto en deportes de Nieve.

Solucionar el problema del bolsillo superior

La mochila es bastante buena, robusta y para realizar marchas y alpinismo es genial, con muchos accesorios para equipo y múltiples bolsillos muy prácticos...y ahora vamos al defecto. El bolsillo superior no se sujeta. El sistema de anclaje hace que ni casi llena se caiga constantemente.

icon-circle-checkmark verified purchase
Muy práctica pero la solapa se cae

La mochila es muy práctica y ligera. Su modularidad la hacen muy versatil: puede funcionar tanto para un uso diario como para salidas de tres días por la montaña. Tiene un problema fundamental: la solapa cae hacia delante durante la marcha. Si la mochila no está cargada al máximo no hay manera de que la solapa se mantenga en su lugar pero incluso con la mochila cargada, en movimientos más bruscos o corriendo la solapa se cae y cuelga hacia adelante. Este problema compromete la distribución de carga así como la resistencia al agua de la mochila. Seguro que es algo que se puede arreglar poniendo algún pasador para las correas que sujetan la solapa una cremallera. Me extraña mucho que no se haya detectado y corregido en tests sobre el terreno. Espero que se arregle en una nueva versión porque por lo demás és muy buen producto pero en esta versión no la puedo aconsejar.

Hola Andrea,

muchas gracias por tu comentario. Lo pasamos directamente a los diseñadores del producto para que lo puedan tener en cuenta.

Juanjo. Experto en deportes de Montaña.
La ceinture n'est peut…

La ceinture n'est peut être pas assez large, elle se retourne facilement. La Pochette en haut de sac, ne s'applique pas très bien, donc la neige poudreuse peut facilement rentrer dans le sac si on ne serre pas fortement le cordon.

icon-circle-checkmark verified purchase
Skip to reviews

Additional Product Information


Main fabric

  • 100% Polyamide


  • 100% Polyamide


  • 100% Polyurethane
  • 90% Polyester cationic


  • 10% Thermoplastic polyurethane
  • 90% Polypropylene


- Main compartment = 35 liters + 5 liters with skirt. - Front pocket = 6 liters. - Removable top lid = 4 liters.


- 2 ice-axe loops. - Adjustable front ski loop system and storage compartment. - Side compression straps, can be used to carry skis, sleeping mat, etc. They can also be clipped together at the front of the pack to carry a snowboard or snowshoes. - Hydration pack compatible: hanging hook, drinking tube hole on shoulder strap. - Grab handle. - Gear loop on hip belt. - Mesh helmet carrier. - Elasticated holder in the front pocket for shovel/probe.


- Mesh-lined thermoformed foam back, ensuring good carrying comfort and good breathability.


- Padded and mesh-lined ergonomic adjustable shoulder straps with adjustable load adjuster straps. - Adjustable chest strap. - Padded and mesh-lined ergonomic hip belt for better carrying comfort. - 2 gear loops on shoulder straps.


- A quick-access pocket on the top of the removable top lid, 11.8" x 8.7" with a two-way zipper. - An inner mesh pocket on the inside of the removable top lid, 11.8" x 8.7", with key hook. - A zipped pocket on the hip belt, 6.7" x 2". - An inner mesh pocket in the back 8.7" x 7.9".

Opening system

- The top of the bag fastens with two cord stoppers (one for the main compartment and one for the extension skirt). - Large two-way zipper opening at the back for quick and easy access to the main compartment. - Removable top lid.


- Height: 24.8" - Width: 11.4" - Depth: 9.1".


- Main fabric: Ripstop 420 denier polyamide / Water-repellent.



Product testing

Designed by our teams in the Chamonix valley, at the foot of Mont Blanc, all of our backpacks are lab tested to guarantee their strength. Our technical partners test them in the field to validate product claims.

Superior quality. Unbeatable prices.

For 40 years, Decathlon has delivered the best value in the retail sports industry by offering high-quality, sustainable and cost-effective products.

Decathlon makes the difference
  1. product-research

    Research and development

    delivers high-quality cost-effective products

  2. State-of-the-art production processes

    minimize manufacturing costs

  3. Optimized supply chain

    reduces retail prices

  4. laptop-checkout

    Minimal retail footprint

    lowers overhead and indirect costs


Size Guide Visual